“Don’t let them in. Don’t let them see. Be the good girl you always have to be. Conceal, don’t feel. Put on a show. Make one wrong move and everyone will know.”

Conducting yourself according to this quote may not seem very healthy. We are told not to bottle up our feelings, for fear they will make us full and explode. But I don’t see this quote that way. Whenever I start to feel sadness or darkness creeping in, I say this to myself. Because I don’t want anyone to see my sadness. I don’t want anyone to think something’s wrong. I say these words to trick myself into being happy again. I’ve found that if you pretend to be happy, just for the sake of those around you, eventually you will become truly happy. It’s the same doctrine as “fake it ’til you make it.” If you just pretend you know what you’re doing, or you pretend that you’re outgoing and friendly, when really you are not, at some point you will actually know what you’re doing and you will actually be outgoing and friendly.

Tricking myself into happiness may not be the best way to go about things. If anything, it’s a short-term solution. But I think I’d rather pretend to be in a good mood than to actually be in a bad one.

 

